Common security features in the Philippines
Window and door security, quite common in our province
Upgraded our security in the Philippines the last couple of days. Not that I did anything but supervise. The usual suspects that read this blog  know that I sit around on my butt most of the day “working” on this blog.  Our resident handyman and brother-in-law Joery took care of all the work. Put a new deadbolt and one of those peephole viewers on the door.  And a new motion detection floodlight.

 

Back door now has metal bars
Motion sensor floodlight
We recently had what my wife and I are categorizing as an attempted break-in at our “Compound.” Click HERE for that story. Haven’t had anyone else trying to turn our front door knob at 4am trying to get inside.

 

If it was a relative at that early hour, they would have knocked or shouted. The decibel level of their shouting would be in direct correlation to how many San Miguels they had polished off.  But no trouble since then, thankfully,  and because my wife could not sleep until a deadbolt was installed on our front door, we made a trip to Iloilo City to purchase one, and a 300 watt halogen  motion light sensor  for the front porch which I thought would be a good idea.
We have yet to replace the metal bar section that was used on the front door, seen leaning against a tree along with a window section in the top photo.  Last year’s remodeling made removing the door necessary, and the old metal bar frame that secured the front entrance, no longer fits and has be sent to the welding shop for adjustments. Joery installed the motion sensor light, pictured to the right,  the other night, but it didn’t work. The employee at Ace Hardware tested the light for me, and it lit then, but for some reason refused to turn on when it was installed.
Of course I was not happy that the new security light was inoperative and thought my brother-in-law had not installed it correctly. The next day Joery took the light back to Ace in Iloilo City,  and it turns out the lamp was now defective.  The lamp was replaced and now works great. It  picks up a cat which hangs around “The Compound” and a wandering dog. It gives me more peace of mind with it installed. My wife really wasn’t enamored with the idea, thinking it was unnecessary, but I felt it just gives us an extra layer of security. I really feel fairly safe living in the Philippines in our rural province of Guimaras, and don’t think we will have any future problems. However, like anywhere else you live in the world, I think it is better to be prepared and not complacent (like we were), and feel that with our upgraded security in the Philippines we will be fine.

Comments on: "Upgraded Security in the Philippines!" (6)

  1. Glad to hear nobody has tried to break in since. Those floodlights are blindingly bright. It’s pretty shocking to be caught in the glare. It will definitely give burglars second thoughts.

  2. Yep, spinninglovelydays, everything has thankfully been quiet. I thought the floodlights would scare off any potential burglars, too.

  3. Hi Dave, Better keep a spare bulb on hand just in case. Those security lights are great. No sane burglar likes to “work” under their glare. Take care.

  4. Our house need one too…

  5. Hi John. Thanks for the reminder. I’m putting “spare bulb” on my shopping list right now! Thanks for stopping by.

  6. Thanks for the comment, MinnieRunner!

Leave a comment